Stanford Students Map Their Genome

September 10, 2010 at 7:22 pm 1 comment

A recent article in the San Francisco Chronicle discusses the experiences of Stanford students who mapped their own genomes.  The purpose of the class was for students to understand the commercial genetic testing products that were out there, and most shocking to me was that several students had already used the 23andMe service!  Huh.  I must be behind the times or too poor, but at any rate, I think it is an interesting class project, and I sure wouldn’t mind knowing a bit more about the SNPs in me!

Entry filed under: News. Tags: , .

GWAS and Heart Disease 1K Human Genomes

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. keen101  |  November 25, 2010 at 8:10 am

    23andMe is having a $99 thanksgiving sale today (with code) and supposedly on Friday (without code).

    I bought my kit today. Wish me luck. 🙂

    …My genetics teacher will be so jealous….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Bioinformatics Conferences

A list of upcoming bioinformatics conferences from Conference Alerts.

Recently Twittered


