Libraries and Translational Research

April 7, 2009 at 7:54 pm Leave a comment

So I think I’m going to have to do a little reflection (actually, I’m procrastinating on getting my real work done, but hey…).  I was just in a Genetics Biology class this morning listening to a physician give a lecture on schizophrenia.  And while the kids (I’m old enough to call these college students kids, by the way) asked some interesting questions on pharmacogenetics, etc., it was interesting to me that the doctor flat out admitted that he had little knowledge about the genetics involved with the clinical presentation of the disease.

So this is where translational research steps in, eh?  At the recent, AMIA Summit on Translational Bioinformatics, I had the honor of being on a panel presentation about Translational Research Support and Education: A Library-based Approach.  Zak Kohane said something that I thought was pretty profound – Libraries will be the bastion of translational research.  Yeah, I like that.  Libraries don’t answer to one department; we answer to academia.  We can be the bridge between basic science and public health.

I want desparately to be able to go to next year’s genetic biology class and see clinicians lecturing alongside bench researchers so that the students see how their study of genes has an impact on the epidemiology of a disease.  Yeah, that’d be awesome.

Just my two cents (again).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

The Diseaseome Revisited PubChem’s 3D Conformers

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Bioinformatics Conferences

A list of upcoming bioinformatics conferences from Conference Alerts.

Recently Twittered

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


